Quebec Immigration

Overview of Quebec Immigration

Quebec which is the second most populated province in Canada happens to be one of the thirteen provinces and territories of Canada. Selection criteria for the Quebec province are different from the federal and other provincial immigration programs. It administers its own immigration programs.   


Foreign nationals wishing to settle permanently in the French-speaking province of Quebec are selected by the Quebec Ministry of Immigration (MIDI). They have to undergo a two-step immigration process.


  1. They must be selected by the Ministère de l’immigration: Quebec Certificate of Selection (CSQ) is received by the selected applicants. It is an official document issued by Quebec immigration authorities to attest that the candidate has been selected by the province. But this cannot be used to enter Canada as this is not a visa. Its validity is for 24 months or until a decision has been rendered by Immigration.
  2. Once an applicant receives the Quebec Certificate of Selection (CSQ) must file a permanent residence application with IRCC within 24 months.

While evaluating a Quebec application for permanent residency the role of the federal government is mainly limited to issues of health and criminality.


When requested an application will be submitted to IRCC, including police certificates and medical exams.


Passing score in Quebec Skilled Worker Program

The passing score in this program is based on a point’s grid, which assigns a maximum of 120 points based on nine factors which are mentioned below:

  • Education and training
  • Skilled work experience
  • Age
  • Proficiency in French or English
  • If your family or blood relations stay in Quebec
  • Spouse/common-law partner characteristics
  • Valid job offer
  • Accompanying children
  • Financial self-sufficiency

Get a Quick Quote